Welcome to the 7th SA Veterinary & Paraveterinary Congress will be held at the Boardwalk Conference Centre Port Elizabeth from 19 - 22 August 2013.

In line with the SAVA decision to take the national congress to smaller cities within South Africa, this world-class venue was chosen because of its proximity to the airport and amenities as well as being family-friendly.

My sincere thanks to the congress organising committee for the time spent planning this congress. A special thank you to the scientific committee and Prof Banie Penzhorn for yet another superb and varied programme. Thanks also to Petrie Vogel and SAVETCON for the logistical arrangements and to the SAVA staff who assist with delegate registrations and congress administration.

Please visit all exhibitors during tea-breaks and lunches. To facilitate networking, the catering areas have been placed strategically within the exhibition area. We are indebted to the exhibitors and sponsors of functions, sessions and product showcases. Veterinarians are known for not taking care of themselves, so in an attempt to correct this, a wellness centre has been placed in the exhibition area to assist delegates with a profile of important medical tests. Please make this a priority visit early on during this congress. Thanks to Sr Christelle Fourie for organising this facility.

In an attempt to add value to this congress, response devices will be available in certain lecture venues to enable delegates to interact anonymously with, and supply feedback to speakers who have requested this technology. It is foreseen that this technology will become an essential component of future congressing. Thanks to all the speakers for the time and effort put into preparing, presenting and networking at the congress.

To you the delegates - thank you for travelling to PE to participate in this congress. I hope that your enjoyment of the city, amenities and local people is only surpassed by the camaraderie and CPD value of the congress itself.

Ken Pettey
Chairperson: Congress Organising Committee 2013